Our Shires

  • Wellington Region

    Nestled at the foothills of the Mt Arthur Reserve on the banks of the Macquarie and Bell Rivers, Wellington is the second-oldest town west of the Blue Mountains.

  • Walgett Shire

    Walgett Shire proudly offers all the ingredients for a great outback lifestyle – scenery, relaxation, recreation and revitalisation. It has an abundance of wildlife and flora on display, not to mention the spectacular sunrises and brilliant sunsets to open and close your day.

  • Warrumbungle Shire

    Straddling the Newell and Golden Highways, Warrumbungle Shire is on the road to anywhere and close enough to everywhere. The shire takes in six serviced townships – Coonabarabran, Baradine, Binnaway, Mendooran, Coolah and Dunedoo and a number of interesting locations where once there were thriving villages.

  • Warren Shire

    Warren is a safe and friendly rural community providing a range of services and amenities for its residents. Offering a comfortable, affordable and relaxed lifestyle, Warren provides the perfect base for family, business and social interests.

  • Narromine Shire

    Narromine is a family-orientated town with a strong sense of community spirit. With a rich agriculture history and growing mining sector on our doorstep, activity in these industries drives the economy and provides opportunities for employment and investment.

  • Mudgee Region

    Mudgee has a dynamic and friendly community with a strong and diverse economic base, providing opportunities for future business development and growth. The Region attracts almost 524,000 visitors each year to experience local wine, food, sporting and cultural events.

  • Gilgandra Shire

    Gilgandra is a riverside oasis in a vast agricultural landscape. The town has a fascinating history and is known as the home of the Coo-ee.

  • Coonamble Shire

    Coonamble takes a do-it-yourself ‘womb to tomb’ approach to caring for all our citizens, making the Coonamble community determined and dynamic.

  • Cobar Shire

    Cobar has a warm and lively community and is the main town within the large shire. The Shire’s prosperity is built around the thriving mining – copper, lead, silver, zinc, gold – and pastoral industries, which are strongly supported by a wide range of attractions and activities, that attract a large

  • Bourke Shire

    Bourke Shire is situated in Western New South Wales at the crossroads of the Mitchell Highway, Kamilaroi Highway and the Kidman Way. The township of Bourke is located on the banks of the Darling River and boasts a vibrant lifestyle and plenty of opportunities for employment.